Ladies And Gentlemen, Welcome To The Main Event….

(bell ringing)

LLLLLLLLEEEEEETSSS GET READYYYYYYYYY TOOOOOO RUMMMMMMMMBBBLLLLEEE!

In this corner, measuring in at 6’6”, weighing in at 235 lbs, hailing from the hard streets of Rochester Hills, MI, Kevin “The Sheltered Surburbanite Striker” Smith!

In the opposing corner, measuring in at 3,287,590 square km, weighing in at….well, we can’t really weigh it….is The “Raging” Republic of India!

All silly introductions aside, welcome to the inaugural post of As The (Flat) World Turns. I plan to use this as a vehicle to let people back home know how I’m doing, what I’m up to, and to share some of my thoughts, ruminations and relevant content about my experiences here in India with the world at large – as well as some relevant advice to current college students looking to enter the increasingly globalizing business field (as I worked my keister off Fall Semester to nab a job in the less than optimal economic climate here in MI).

First of all, some of you may be wondering what exactly I’m doing with my life that is leading me to fly over 6,000 miles to start my career. Upon graduation from Michigan State University with dual Bachelor of Arts degrees in International Relations and Telecommunication, Information Studies and Media last month, I am now beginning my career as a Software Engineer (in training, for now) with Infosys Technologies Limited – a leading firm providing BPO (business process outsourcing) services across a variety of industries. Main competitors include IBM, EDS, TCS (Tata Consulting Services) and Wipro.

I will be going with approximately 125 other American graduates from the top 50 universities and colleges across the country (including 12 MSU alumni!) as part of their Global Talent Program – designed to draw talent from across the globe to increase their “global footprint”. However, we only make up a small fraction of the thousands of Indian “freshers” that will be at the Global Education Center in Mysore, India – where we will spend at least 3 months in training in object-oriented programming and relational database management systems (RDBMS). We will then be placed in Bangalore (HQ), Hyderabad or Chennai (previously known as Madras – figured I’d point that out for the older folks reading this.) for 3 months on a rotation within our international business unit. At the conclusion of training and our rotation, we will be coming back to the USA and beginning work at a US location to be decided.

I’ll be posting relevant content to India, Infosys and international business in general as well as my thoughts about packing up and heading for India. Add this to your feed readers, bookmarks, Netvibes/Pageflakes/iGoogle homepage, whatever.

Leave a comment

Filed under Advice, Announcements, Job Hunt, Relevant Content

Leave a Reply

