6 Days And Counting

With less than a week until zero hour, I am in the throes of packing. All my bags are laid out in the guest room, with various pieces of clothing on the bed. I’m checking my lists multiple times, making sure I have all that I need for my 6-8 month journey.

In addition to packing up my material possessions, I’ve had to deal with some uncertainties in my mind as I am poised to step off the precipice, “into the great wide open” (to borrow a line from Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers). I’m moving away from home (probably permanently), leaving the state I’ve been in my whole life and travelling 9,000 miles away for 6-8 months. I then have to move to another state upon my return and “start over”. I know that things will work out, but it has been a little daunting to realize that I’m jumping into the real world head first. However, I’m now confident and ready for whatever challenges come my way. Let’s do it!

Into the great wide open
Under them skies of blue
Out in the great wide open
A rebel without a clue…

Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers – “Into The Great Wide Open”

1 Comment

Filed under Thoughts

One response to “6 Days And Counting

  1. Jeff Smith

    Kevin:

    Very well written post – you’ll do great! Love, DAD

Leave a Reply

