And So It Begins…

Finished with all of our “soft skills” training on Tuesday. Today marked the beginning of our “technical” training. The professor was really quite good – he obviously knew his stuff and had the communication skills to express it well. We have nice workstations – flat screens, etc. – on par with the MSU Microlabs.

Things have been going well, but we’ve been dealing with a lot of “surprises” as of late – mainly due to onerous Indian government regulations. For example, I may have to make the 2.5 hour trip to Bangalore on Friday because the Indian Consulate in Chicago decided to put “Bangalore” instead of “Across India” on my (and twenty others’) work visa(s) – and we have to register with the Foreign Resident Registration Officer from the jurisdiction that is on our visa. I’m just trying to go with the flow and not stress about it too much.

I felt kind of overwhelmed by everything today, so I have been relaxing and trying to decompress – had some Domino’s for the first time in India (Tom Monaghan would be very proud – it’s really quite good). I’m really glad that I have my own room so I can sit by myself and recharge – there are so many people, so many noises, so many cultural differences – that I can feel a bit overloaded at times.

In more positive news – we are getting a group together to go to Bangalore this weekend for sight-seeing/checking stuff out. Total cost of a van for 8 people (including a driver that sleeps in the van) for two days/unmetered driving – 3900 INR, or $96 total. Great success! I’ll be sure to take plenty of photos and videos.

2 Comments

Filed under Thoughts

2 responses to “And So It Begins…

  1. Tyler Gill

    Kev were getting complaints from the Indian Government about a tall, loud-mouth, white, American that keeps T-ing off the locals keep and eye out for him.

  2. Kate Fish

    As of 4:20 (eastern time) this morning, Madison Gloria was in this world! 🙂 I am at the airport waiting to go see her (I am so excited to see my niece it is going to be a long flight), but I though you’d like to look at my journal and see a picture of her!

    Hope all is well for you too

    Kate

Leave a Reply

