I Won’t Back Down…

This is one work week that I’m especially glad is over. I won’t go into the gory details, but it involves rule changes, failed exams, blow-back from the rule changes, compromises being made, etc. I have been at 110% of my BS tolerance level the last few days – which is compounded by the fact that I haven’t been feeling incredibly great. I feel like I got a little too worked up over things, which I regret. I was just very stressed out over facing the possibility of getting sent home and I was having trouble handling/expressing all of the emotions flowing through me. I mainly just went home at lunch and slept – a plus of the 1.5 hour lunches we get over here. I guess it’s all part of the cultural learning we are doing – dealing with tough situations with Indian HR. I’m not going to let them get the best of me though, because I am determined not to fail.

Other than that, things went alright. Wednesday was India’s 60th Independence Day, which was cool. Unfortunately I spent it studying. However, I got paid for 8 hours, so it was all good.

Also, I got a webcam (from a hole in the wall computer place on K.T. Road – and I didn’t get ripped off!) – so I can do video chat/video e-mail. I might also do a vlog – depends on how things go. That might be kind of cool.

In other news, I hope to be getting voice mails from people on my PrivatePhone number – my old number, (248) 770-9907 was disconnected about a month ago. I gave it to a lot of you, but if you want it, send me an e-mail/IM/FB note/etc. Don’t worry, it’s a (248) number and doesn’t ring my phone – so you can call me whenever. I really enjoy listening to messages before I go to work/after I get home, so call early and often.

In honor of today’s posting, here is a song that sums up my feelings about not giving up. It’s a classic – ” I Won’t Back Down” by Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers.

1 Comment

Filed under Thoughts

One response to “I Won’t Back Down…

  1. hey, chin up yo! 🙂 i totally get that indians can be UBER strict and stubborn sometimes (sometimes = all the time). just focus on your job, and don’t let them bring you down. they just do it to make themselves feel superior, so let them have it. do what you must, do what you can, and what you want to happen will happen in due time.

Leave a Reply

