What Has Two Thumbs And Can Iron Shirts Now?

…(points to self) this guy! That’s right, Kevin has stepped into the age of being able to handle a searing hot appliance to de-wrinkle his clothing. Big stuff for the guy who couldn’t tie his own shoes until third grade!

This weekend has been some peaceful studying with a whole lot of doing nothing/sleeping mixed in. The campus was basically empty because of the holiday weekend (Thiru Onam), so I was able to get a lot of “alone recharge time” that I desperately needed. The fact that I had a lot more internet bandwidth to work with was another plus – was able to have clearer SkypeVideo chats with the parents.

I have been trying to prep myself for the week – it’s going to be a busy one, with two module test retakes and a lot of programming. I’ve been going over my materials and have identified some weak spots that I’m working on clearing up for the retake and for the comprehensive examination that occurs in T-28 days. I’m also trying to navigate the corporate maze to find out what track I’m in for technical training, as I’m curious.

It’s weird knowing that classes at MSU and a variety of other places are starting up for my friends in undergrad/grad school, and I’m out here in the “real world”. It is a definite marker of my transition from the 17 years of primary/secondary/tertiary education to the workforce – I’m sure it will be even more pronounced when I get out of Training (which is a little like college in the sense of classes/exams) and into Production. It has made me wonder yet again if I made the right choice by putting my dreams of grad school on hold to chase down a lucrative job opportunity 10,000 miles away. After a lot of thought, I think that I’ve absolutely done the right thing for me. It may not be what other people would have chosen, but it is what I was determined to do and what I am determined to succeed in.

On a related note, I’ve been perusing the CollegeConfidential.com forums to do some very, very low level research on what I should focus on if and when I decide to go back for a graduate/professional degree – and man oh man, some people there are a little too intense for me. If I am to believe all of their advice/opinions, I should be living in a box and working at McDonald’s, due to the fact that I only went to a school in the US News Top 75 (MSU is at 71) instead of a US News Top 25 school. Also, if I continue using the logic employed by some of the people on there, if don’t go to a US News Top 10 law or business school, I will have wasted my money and will go nowhere in life.

I think I broke their worldview – I should probably quit my job so that they can go back to making flawed/fallible ranking systems their personal deities.

Leave a comment

Filed under Humor, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

