Earning My Money The Hard Way…

Just got done taking my second of two comprehensive examinations for the first part of Generic Stream training – wasn’t too terrible. Sadly, I made a few dumb mistakes – but I should be able to pull off something. Hopefully that, combined with the practical I took yesterday, will get me over the hump.

This whole experience has been one of the toughest things I’ve ever done – but also the most rewarding. I feel like I’m learning so much, both in the classroom and outside. I’ve been thrown into a completely different culture, been cutting my teeth in a totally different corporate environment and been forced to go the extra mile to succeed. I’ve matured in my faith. I’ve had moments, both good and bad. I’ve been on top of the world and have also been in the gutter. I’ve dropped 15 lbs in a month and a half not by my volition. All of these experiences combine to temper my spirit and forge a new, stronger self. I have two more months of training in one of the most difficult streams that Infosys offers – but I’m not afraid. I’ve been fighting my whole life (with a lot of help) to get where I am now, to have what I have. It’s time to get serious – no excuses, failure is not an option. I will avail of every resource the company provides (which are numerous) to succeed.

To close off here is a snippet of the kind of stuff I will be doing for the next two months –

000100 IDENTIFICATION DIVISION.
000200 PROGRAM-ID. HELLOWORLD.
000300
000400*
000500 ENVIRONMENT DIVISION.
000600 CONFIGURATION SECTION.
000700 SOURCE-COMPUTER. RM-COBOL.
000800 OBJECT-COMPUTER. RM-COBOL.
000900
001000 DATA DIVISION.
001100 FILE SECTION.
001200
100000 PROCEDURE DIVISION.
100100
100200 MAIN-LOGIC SECTION.
100300 BEGIN.
100400 DISPLAY " " LINE 1 POSITION 1 ERASE EOS.
100500 DISPLAY "Hello world!" LINE 15 POSITION 10.
100600 STOP RUN.
100700 MAIN-LOGIC-EXIT.
100800 EXIT.

5 Rupee Coin to the first person who can tell me what language that is and what it does!

5 Comments

Filed under Thoughts

5 responses to “Earning My Money The Hard Way…

  1. Kate

    I don’t know what that is or what it does… but I wanted to say I’m super proud of you! 🙂

  2. Tim

    That would be a program that Prints “Hello World”. It is written in COBOL (otherwise known as the Completely Obsolete Business Oriented Language).

    About how much is 5 rupees?

  3. Jess

    so, is it bad that when you said a 5 rupee coin, my first thoughts went to Legend of Zelda?

  4. KJS

    @ Tim:

    Currently about 12 cents American. However, the Rupee is appreciating against the dollar, so by the time I get back, it may be worth 15 cents!

  5. Grandma

    Hope all is going well with you today. Palm is lying on my printer asleep. He seems to want to be with me all of the time.
    We had a nice rain last night so the lawn is a little greener today.
    Take care and much love–grandma

Leave a Reply

