Back To The Grind…

The shortened work schedule this week felt like a pretty long one, I’m not going to lie.  We are in the midst of learning COBOL – short for COmmon Business Oriented Language – a programming language that reached its apex of popularity in the 1970s but still boasts trillions of lines of production code on mainframes all over the world, powering the back-end of financial transactions and government record keeping to name just a few applications. It’s a bit clunky to program and debug, not going to lie. However, I’m getting paid to do it and it will help my career out – as many of the people who wrote/maintained those COBOL programs are either retired or getting ready to retire, causing a bit of a knowledge vacuum.

It has been a bit of a “culture shock” being fully integrated with over 150 of our Indian counterparts in the July Long Cycle 2 Batch. They segregated us the first day of Generic Stream for some reason, but now we are back together again. It is a trip, let me tell you. The Indian trainees love to answer things in unison and ask questions in the middle of lecture – something we aren’t totally familiar with. They also seem to have an obsession with breaking standard issue Infosys coffee mugs and then bursting out into a round of applause as a class. I can’t figure that one out for the life of me. I’m starting to get the hang of navigating the culture and using the lingo (revising = studying, for example), but TR1 (Alexander Graham Bell Room) in the Global Education Center is a totally different world than B-104 Wells Hall.

In other news, I would like to thank everyone out there for the advice and encouragement that you have sent my way. This experience hasn’t been easy at times, but I suppose nothing worth doing ever is. I read every single e-mail, comment, Facebook message/wall post, voice mail and/or text message that people send me. They help keep me plugged into what’s going on back home – so feel free to let me know about what’s going on in your lives!

1 Comment

Filed under Thoughts

One response to “Back To The Grind…

  1. Barb Torrence

    Hi Kevin,
    I’m enjoying reading your blog and catching up. Your Mom stopped by my desk last night at conferences. I certainly understand why she thinks you are too far away from home. Today we had the homecoming assembly and the football game is tonight. The assembly went very well and the kids actually behaved themselves and had a good time.
    I’m so glad to hear about your experiences and travels. I’ll be a regular reader. Take care. Barb

Leave a Reply

