Our West Branch…

For many years, I remember making the 5 hour drive on I-75 North to my grandparents’ house on Torch Lake. We always took the same route, so it embedded itself in my memory over the years. The one place I’ll always remember is West Branch, MI – as it marked the half-way point between home and the grandparents. It was the place where we stopped to refuel our car and our bodies and prepare to finish the often tiring drive there/back.

As of Sunday, we reached our “West Branch” – 3 months in India. It’s been a long, winding road at times, but we’ve hit a crucial landmark. It seems fitting that upper management has decided to change the training focus for the non-engineering long cycle folks to more of a business analyst track. It sounds like a very interesting switch and I’m looking forward to it to help my career here at Infosys. While I’m doing well in Mainframes (2 A’s and a B out of 3 modules done) – I feel that I could add the most value to the company in a slightly different role – which this will hopefully provide the skills to take on that role.

I think I’ll take this milestone to ruminate a bit on the last few months – what I’ve learned and how I’ve grown. I came into this thing as a unrefined young buck raring to go after two months of captivity at home (although it was nice to be unemployed for a short period). I thought I knew all the answers on how this thing was going to go – turns out I didn’t have a clue. I feel that the last three months have been a proverbial forge, where all of my preconceived notions, behaviors and naive ideas were melted down and forged into something stronger. In my opinion, I’ve grown in a variety of ways after everything I’ve been through – mentally and spiritually especially. I’ve learned that if you don’t look out for yourself, no one else will. I’ve learned to persevere in the face of seemingly impossible odds, to keep my emotions in check, and most importantly – to rely on my faith when I’ve got nothing left.

Some may ask if I would have gone through this again, had I known what I was getting into – and I think the answer is a yes. This is a once in a lifetime opportunity and I couldn’t let myself wonder “What if?” for the rest of my life. Things haven’t always been easy, but nothing worthwhile ever is.

Looking ahead, I’m on the vanguard of a new path in a company that’s constantly changing and is growing at a rapid pace. There are tensions amongst coworkers and stressors galore, but such is life. The focus for the next three months (or so) is to maximize what’s left of training and to get the most out of the time I have left here – and prepare for the next phase in my life.

Wow, that got pretty deep, pretty quickly – onto less heavy topics. I am trying to do some traveling in the near future and will hopefully be going to Ooty very soon and am set to go to Delhi and Agra over Diwali weekend. Should be exciting! As always, plentiful amounts of media will follow such trips.

In closing, thanks for all of the e-mails and comments – I truly appreciate them. Till next time, keep it classy blogosphere.

4 Comments

Filed under Thoughts

4 responses to “Our West Branch…

  1. Kara

    Gosh Kev…..such an experience!! Hope you have a great time in Delhi, it’s on my top 10 places to visit someday. Take lots of pictures. Congrats on making it to “West Branch”, “Torchwood’s” right around the corner!! -Kara

  2. Aunt Marty

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this incredible journey that you are taking. I can relate to the West Branch frame of mind, that is a very good comparison! You’re doing great Kev, keep up the good work.

  3. Grandma

    I love reading your blogs and how true the West Branch comparison is to your training. Torchwood was the reward from the boring drive. –golfing, pontoon boat rides and family having fun together. I have such fond memories of those days.
    Sounds like the forthcoming few months left for you in India will not only be challenging but fun to look forward to.
    Take lots of pictures on your next trips–we all enjoy seeing them.
    Take care and know that I love you a lot.

    Grandma

  4. OH M G…i studied at St. Hilda’s School in Ooty for 7 years!!! πŸ˜€ (it’s a boarding school) Could you try to say hi to it for me? πŸ™‚

    And my mom’s from New Delhi…crazy that you’re visiting all these nostalgic places! *haha* πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

