Visiting “The Least Of These”…

“The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.'”
– Matthew 25:40, NIV

After reading of Nate’s experiences seeing “another side of Mysore”, I knew in my heart of hearts that I had to visit as well. I wanted to put what Jesus said in Matthew 25:40 into action.

I met up with a coworker’s aunt (referred to in Nate’s post as “The Saint”) to go visit the poor, aged and destitute on Saturday morning. It was an absolutely beautiful experience – quite possibly one of the more meaningful experiences I’ve had here in India. We visited these places (home for the destitute, nursing home, orphanage) in Mysore, India and I felt my entire body/heart just feel the presence/love of Christ – it was amazing. My coworker’s aunt personally blessed, prayed and sang (both in English and in Kannada, the regional language) with people that society had forgotten about – people who can’t walk, people with AIDS, people’s whose families have abandoned them, children with no homes – her passion and devotion was so sincere. As we rode in an auto-rickshaw, she was so excited to talk about what she wanted to do in the future with her ministry. I was completely inspired by her, the work that she is doing, as well as the Sisters who help run the institutions we visited.

Far from being a “downer” experience, it actually helped inspire me to continue my spiritual journey and continue to help those that need it most. I want to continue to show love to those who are in darkness, those who suffer, etc. – just as Christ showed his love for me by bearing the sin of the world on the Cross – thereby gaining final victory over death.

To close out, I’ll tell you about one woman I interacted with at the home for the aged. An elderly resident of the nursing home named Margaret, with cataracts in her eyes, asked me to pray for her. The thing that struck me is how serene and peaceful she seemed. She may not be able to see the things of this world in full detail, but through her faith she can see the things that really matter.

You can see photos of our visits here.

1 Comment

Filed under Charity, Thoughts

One response to “Visiting “The Least Of These”…

  1. Dad

    Hi Kevin: The Flickr pictures of your visit to the orphanage, home for the destitute, etc were so powerful and your words even more so. And – it was interesting to hear more about it on our video chat yesterday. We are always so proud of you and the way you live your faith every day – and in the process, learn so much about life.

    Love,

    DAD

Leave a Reply

